And the spotlight is on you!

Last week, I was surprised to see this on my Tweetdeck:

Congratulations for what, I thought? And there it was: Top 25 Online Travel Marketing & PR Influencers. Why was I being congratulated was the first thought, oh my goodness was the second!  There I was at number 4!

One of the reasons I absolutely love what I do, is because you spend your time listening to others, connecting others, helping them stand out, advising when required and, generally, opening doors and making things happen. You are never the ‘I’, you are the one pushing others forwards and revelling in their successes. You’re part of a team of people, in which every single one of you is special and unique and every single one of you has an important role to play. You stand behind, you do not stand out!

Still, sitting there, full of gratitude and wonder, with a huge grin on my face whilst it sank in, was not getting anything done!  I shared the news with my son & daughter and with close friends.

I had started the day with a tweet of : Good morning :-) Definitely a day to believe in the magic of dreams. Mind you, should you adhere to most of the rules and regulations of Twitter, you do not start with a salutation. I have a different opinion here, you would never launch into a conversation without saying good morning/afternoon/evening or hello, so why would you on a social communications site?  If people really don’t like it, they have options!  Twitter is a happy place, a place to meet, greet and grow. A place to build relationships, be they personal or business. So the salutations and ((hugs)) you tweet, take the place of a kiss to the cheeks or a more formal handshake, or, best of all, just a great big hug!

Ha! I digress. I had expected nice e-mails and direct messages back, which I did receive, but they also said, well how are you going to publicise this? What a novel idea, promote myself!  I suppose that is where the British reticence of blowing one’s own trumpet comes to the fore ~ you would never want to be thought of as bragging!

But, I didn’t have to, they did it for me!  That is the power of friendship ~ one of the most beautiful possessions in the world!  Nothing material with the best possessions, people and feelings are what matters. I’m lucky there, I have an enviable group of friends, both old and new, that I love and respect. And that is what twitter is all about, a wonderful community that allows you to make true friends. The lists are produced each week and number one this week is Charles Yap @HotelPRGuy of Intercontinental Hotel Group and I am at number 5, so happy :-)

I have eclectic tastes and sometimes tweet a lot if I get excited and passionate about a subject, but that’s just me and that is what building relationships is all about, being yourself.  Believe in yourself and be yourself, the rest will happen ~ even the spotlight!

One thought on “And the spotlight is on you!

  1. Dear Lynne – heartfelt congratulations and well deserved. You deserve success as you are modelling the importance of Being Authentic and Being Generous. Your generous personality shines through and many of us are very happy to be cheered by your positive comments and are grateful for your RTs, recommendations and support. Don’t stop now. You are also ready to put modesty aside and help others starting out. Keep up the Great Work!

Leave a Reply

